Last Week

I took a couple of days off. When I last posted I was ecstatic  about having 10 pounds of chicken; actually, I still am. I went to the store and bought 2 whole chickens that weighed 9 and 1/2 pounds. The chicken quarters in the bag at the food bank had were breasts and legs, so I thought that whole chickens were equally valid. We had a whole baked chicken on Friday night  and I had enough left over to get three more meals from that bird. We had  twice baked legs and thighs over rice with tomatoes, pepper and onions the next night. Then we had white chili made with great northern beans and finally tonight we had chicken pot pies with carrots, potatoes and peas. We took a break on Sunday and had tacos with refried beans.

I have to confess that I cheated a bit this week. We have a vegetable garden at our house. Actually we have two 4′ X 8′ raised beds in which we raise tomatoes, potatoes, peppers and lettuce. We had a fall crop of lettuce planted and it had to be cut before the hard frost, so we have been having salad for the last 5 days. I haven’t put anything in the salad, other than the lettuce ,that I did not get at the food bank or buy with my food stamp money.

Today I bought the Turkey for Thursday. I found it at Costco for 99 cents a pound so I bought a 15 pound one. That should cover us and I have money left over to buy  onions. So we will be having creamed onions as well as the regular stuff.

I have to think a bit about what I have learned. I know that this was not easy and I am not sure how people do this every day. They are my heroes.

I still have chicken parts in the freezer and I still have half a pound of hamburger. I will be going to the food bank tomorrow to see what else is there for Tuesday and Wednesday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment