Day 5- Tonight we eat out.

There is a dinner for Fishline volunteers so we will not cook tonight.

My husband and I picked up the early morning produce from our local market at 5:30. That gives me an idea of what I will be “buying” today. I think it will be Mexican week.There are lots of avocados, tomatoes, peppers and onions. We picked up 906 pounds this morning.

I will be shopping today and making scrapple and waffles for breakfast tomorrow. Both my mother and my grandmother made scrapple, which is a form of fried mush. I will add the recipe at the bottom of this post.

I went to the food bank to see what I could buy. I would have used 11 “fishbucks” I went to the store and spent $29.21 to purchase what I listed. Fish is on the menu for tomorrow night and salsa of some sort.

Scrapple:
1 quart water
1 small onion sliced
6 peppercorns
1 bay leaf

1 smoked pork hock ( about 2 pounds)

Simmer until pork falls off the bones.
Strain and reserve the liquor
There should be 4 cups
Shred pork and reserve

Corn meal mush:

1 cup white or yellow corn meal
1/2 cup cold water
1 tsp salt
Mix these together in a bowl

Heat 4 cups pork liquor
Add corm meal slowly and simmer 5 minutes until thick

Add the pork, 1 tsp dried sage and dried hot peppers to taste

Put in bread pan and chill .
When chilled slice into 1/4 inch slices and fry slowly until crisp on the outside.
Can be frozen when sliced and pulled out to cook when you wish.

Kind of replaces bacon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment